Tel UK +44 (0)845 0068858 The LPI on Twitter

 
 

Certified Online Learning Facilitator (COLF)

This course provides you with the skills and background knowledge to enable you to facilitate collaborative and interactive live online courses and events.

Overview

Today’s learning and development professionals are being asked to deliver learning to more people, with less budget, and provide learning events that will save money but deliver increased business performance.

To meet these business needs, companies are adopting live online learning as a way to provide employees in remote locations with the same quality of interactive and collaborative learning normally afforded to classroom participants.

However, running successful live online events requires an entirely new set of skills. The COLF course provides you with those skills.

 

Why is there a need for certification?

The traditional delivery skills of classroom trainers simply will not transfer into the online classroom. Running successful live online events requires an entirely new set of approaches and skills. Without these skills in place, live online learning will fail. This is why we have developed the Certified Online Learning Facilitator (COLF) course. Launched in 2010 with the aim of raising standards within the live online learning arena, the course is now a globally adopted benchmark for businesses wanting to demonstrate the highest level of commitment and competency in their virtual learning programme.

What does online learning certification give me?

COLF logoDelegates who pass the course are awarded the COLF Certification (issued by The Learning and Performance Institute) and permitted to use the official COLF logo on all personal stationery. The course will provide you with the skills, knowledge and experience to:

  • Design effective online classroom sessions using web conferencing interactivity tools.
  • Re-purpose traditional classroom exercises for collaborative online learning.
  • Engage learner attention and participation in your online classroom events.
  • Conduct best practices for facilitating live online learning events.
  • Develop comprehensive lesson plans, facilitator guides, presentations and participant materials.

Am I suitable for this course?

This course is for all individuals whose current or future job responsibilities include facilitating live online learning events, such as courses, meetings, webinars or web conferences, for their internal/external clients (irrespective of the content).
Although some training/facilitating experience is beneficial, it is not mandatory as the essentials are covered in the course. If this is the case you may expect to spend more time in the self-directed study assignments.

The course is especially beneficial for individuals or teams currently having to travel to deliver training and in doing so incurring associated costs.

"... the COLF workshop has been a positive learning experience for me and will recommend this workshop to any trainers thinking of taking the steps to on-line and/or blending training further."

- Rosalind Deterville, IT Training Consultant, Linklaters LLP

How long before I am qualified?

The course comprises live, online moderated workshops using web conferencing software blended with self-directed study assignments.
In addition, it is imperative that you make time to practice your new skills and become familiar with the technology. If you do not have access to your organisation's web conferencing software to practice, we will ensure you are allocated practice sessions. You will also have access to live, online tutor support throughout the course.

The Certification is based on:

  • Completion of the workshop assignments.
  • Completion and submission of a Learning Journal after each workshop session.
  • The Live Assessment, where you will facilitate a live online session to a live audience.

The average number of study hours for the course is as follows:

  • Live Online Sessions –18 hours
  • Self-Directed Study Assignments – 12 hours
  • Self Directed Practice – 10 hours (technology)

Delivery times can be tailored to suit specific requirements, so please contact us for further details. Otherwise, you can apply for any of the scheduled courses shown below.

COURSE SCHEDULE 2014 - UK & EUROPE

SEPTEMBER/OCTOBER (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Tuesday 30th September 9:30am–11:30am L1
Friday 3rd October 9:30am–11:30am L2
Friday 3rd October 1:30pm–3:30pm L3
Tuesday 7th October 9:30am–11:30am L4
Tuesday 7th October 1:30pm–3:30pm L5
Tuesday 14th October 9:30am–11:30am L6
Tuesday 14th October 1:30pm–3:30pm L7
Tuesday 21st October 9:30am–11:30am L8
Tuesday 21st October 1:30pm–3:30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

OCTOBER (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 3rd October 9:30am–11:30am L1
Monday 6th October 9:30am–11:30am L2
Monday 6th October 1:30pm–3:30pm L3
Friday 10th October 9:30am–11:30am L4
Friday 10th October 1:30pm–3:30pm L5
Friday 17th October 9:30am–11:30am L6
Friday 17th October 1:30pm–3:30pm L7
Monday 20th October 9:30am–11:30am L8
Monday 20th October 1:30pm–3:30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

NOVEMBER (Day)

Date Time (EST) Module
Thursday 30th October 9.30am-11.30am L1
Thursday 30th October 1.30pm-3.30pm L2
Wednesday 5th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 7th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L4
Monday 10th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Thursday 13th November 9.30am-11.30am L6
Thursday 13th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Thursday 20th November 9.30am-11.30am L8
Thursday 20th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

NOVEMBER (Day) 

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 31st October 9:30am–11:30am L1
Monday 3rd November 9:30am–11:30am L2
Monday 3rd November 1:30pm–3:30pm L3
Friday 7th November 9:30am–11:30am L4
Friday 7th November 1:30pm–3:30pm L5
Friday 14th November 9:30am–11:30am L6
Friday 14th November 1:30pm–3:30pm L7
Monday 17th November 9:30am–11:30am L8
Monday 17th November 1:30pm–3:30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

NOVEMBER (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Tuesday 18th November 9.30am-11.30am L1
Tuesday 18th November 1:30pm–3:30pm L2
Tuesday 25th November 9.30am-11.30am L3
Tuesday 25th November 1:30pm–3:30pm L4
Thursday 27th November 9.30am-11.30am L5
Thursday 27th November 1:30pm–3:30pm L6
Tuesday 2nd December 9.30am-11.30am L7
Tuesday 2nd December 1:30pm–3:30pm L8
Tuesday 9th December 9.30am-11.30am L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

DECEMBER (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 28th November 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 1st December 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 1st December 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 5th December 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 5th December 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 12th December 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 12th December 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Monday 15th December 9.30am-11.30am L8
Monday 15th December 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

COURSE SCHEDULE 2014 - AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND

AUGUST (Day)

Date Time (EST) Module
Tuesday 5th August 9.30am-11.30am L1
Tuesday 5th August 1.30pm-3.30pm L2
Thursday 7th August 9.30am-11.30am L3
Thursday 7th August 1.30pm-3.30pm L4
Tuesday 12th August 9.30am-11.30am L5
Tuesday 12th August 1.30pm-3.30pm L6
Thursday 14th August 9.30am-11.30am L7
Thursday 14th August 1.30pm-3.30pm L8
Tuesday 19th August 9.30am-11.30am L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

SEPTEMBER/OCTOBER (Afternoon)

Date Time (EST) Module
Monday 29th September 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 29th September 1.30pm-3.30pm L2
Wednesday 1st October 9.30am-11.30am L3
Wednesday 1st October 1.30pm-3.30pm L4
Monday 6th October 9.30am-11.30am L5
Monday 6th October 1.30pm-3.30pm L6
Monday 13th October 9.30am-11.30am L7
Monday 13th October 1.30pm-3.30pm L8
Wednesday 15th October 9.30am-11.30am L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

COURSE SCHEDULE 2015 - UK & EUROPE

JANUARY (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 9th January 9:30am–11:30am L1
Monday 12th January 9:30am–11:30am L2
Monday 12th January 1:30pm–3:30pm L3
Friday 16th January 9:30am–11:30am L4
Friday 16th January 1:30pm–3:30pm L5
Friday 23rd January 9:30am–11:30am L6
Friday 23rd January 1:30pm–3:30pm L7
Monday 26th January 9:30am–11:30am L8
Monday 26th January 1:30pm–3:30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

JANUARY/FEBRUARY (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Monday 12th January 13:30–15:30 L1
Wednesday 14th January 13:30–15:30 L2
Friday 16th January 13:30–15:30 L3
Monday 19th January 13:30–15:30 L4
Wednesday 21st January 13:30–15:30 L5
Friday 23rd January 13:30–15:30 L6
Monday 2nd February 13:30–15:30 L7
Wednesday 4th February 13:30–15:30 L8
Friday 6th February 13:30–15:30 L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

FEBRUARY (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 6th February 9:30am–11:30am L1
Monday 9th February 9:30am–11:30am L2
Monday 9th February 1:30pm–3:30pm L3
Friday 13th February 9:30am–11:30am L4
Friday 13th February 1:30pm–3:30pm L5
Friday 20th February 9:30am–11:30am L6
Friday 20th February 1:30pm–3:30pm L7
Monday 23rd February 9:30am–11:30am L8
Monday 23rd February 1:30pm–3:30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

FEBRUARY/MARCH (Evening)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Tuesday 24th February 7:00pm–9:00pm L1
Thursday 26th February 7:00pm–9:00pm L2
Tuesday 3rd March 7:00pm–9:00pm L3
Wednesday 4th March 7:00pm–9:00pm L4
Thursday 5th March 7:00pm–9:00pm L5
Tuesday 17th March 7:00pm–9:00pm L6
Tuesday 19th March 7:00pm–9:00pm L7
Thursday 24th March 7:00pm–9:00pm L8
Thursday 26th March 7:00pm–9:00pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

MARCH (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 13th March 9:30am–11:30am L1
Monday 16th March 9:30am–11:30am L2
Monday 16th March 1:30pm–3:30pm L3
Friday 20th March 9:30am–11:30am L4
Friday 20th March 1:30pm–3:30pm L5
Friday 27th March 9:30am–11:30am L6
Friday 27th March 1:30pm–3:30pm L7
Monday 30th March 9:30am–11:30am L8
Monday 30th March 1:30pm–3:30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

APRIL (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Monday 13th April 9:30am–11:30am L1
Friday 17th April 9:30am–11:30am L2
Friday 17th April 1:30pm–3:30pm L3
Monday 20th April 9:30am–11:30am L4
Monday 20th April 1:30pm–3:30pm L5
Monday 27th April 9:30am–11:30am L6
Monday 27th April 1:30pm–3:30pm L7
Friday 1st May 9:30am–11:30am L8
Friday 1st May 1:30pm–3:30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

MAY (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 8th May 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 11th May 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 11th May 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 15th May 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 15th May 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 22nd May 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 22nd May 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Friday 29th May 9.30am-11.30am L8
Friday 29th May 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

JUNE (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 5th June 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 8th June 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 8th June 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 12th June 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 12th June 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 19th June 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 19th June 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Friday 22nd June 9.30am-11.30am L8
Friday 22nd June 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

JULY (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 3rd July 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 6th July 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 6th July 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 10th July 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 10th July 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 17th July 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 17th July 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Monday 20th July 9.30am-11.30am L8
Monday 20th July 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

AUGUST (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 31st July 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 3rd August 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 3rd August 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 7th August 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 7th August 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 14th August 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 14th August 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Monday 17th August 9.30am-11.30am L8
Monday 17th August 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

SEPTEMBER (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 4th September 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 7th September/td> 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 7th September 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 11th September 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 11th September 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 18th September 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 18th September 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Monday 21st September 9.30am-11.30am L8
Monday 21st September 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

OCTOBER (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 2nd October 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 5th October/td> 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 5th October 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 9th October 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 9th October 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 16th October 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 16th October 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Monday 19th October 9.30am-11.30am L8
Monday 19th October 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

OCTOBER (Evening)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Tuesday 13th October 7:00pm–9:00pm L1
Thursday 15th October 7:00pm–9:00pm L2
Tuesday 20th October 7:00pm–9:00pm L3
Thursday 22nd October 7:00pm–9:00pm L4
Tuesday 27th October 7:00pm–9:00pm L5
Thursday 29th October 7:00pm–9:00pm L6
Tuesday 3rd November 7:00pm–9:00pm L7
Thursday 5th November 7:00pm–9:00pm L8
Thursday 10th November 7:00pm–9:00pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

NOVEMBER (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 6th November 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 9th November/td> 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 9th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 13th November 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 13th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 20th November 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 20th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Monday 23rd November 9.30am-11.30am L8
Monday 23rd November 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments

NOVEMBER/DECEMBER (Day)

Date Time (GMT) Module
Friday 27th November 9.30am-11.30am L1
Monday 30th November/td> 9.30am-11.30am L2
Monday 30th November 1.30pm-3.30pm L3
Friday 4th December 9.30am-11.30am L4
Friday 4th December 1.30pm-3.30pm L5
Friday 11th December 9.30am-11.30am L6
Friday 11th December 1.30pm-3.30pm L7
Monday 14th December 9.30am-11.30am L8
Monday 14th December 1.30pm-3.30pm L9
TBA   L10 - Assessments


 

To reserve your place or to request more information, please contact us on:

Tel: +44 (0)2476 496210

email: colf@thelpi.org

 


   
   

 


We are pleased to be able to offer the COLF course to CIPD members at a preferential rate. Please refer to http://www.cipd.co.uk/cipd-training/qualifications/learning-talent/learning-and-performance-institute-lpi-qualifications/certified-online-learning-facilitator for more details. To book, please call the CIPD customer services team on +44 (0)20 8612 6202 or email training.hotline@cipd.co.uk


Course Schedule
2014 
(EMEA)

Course Schedule
2014 (APAC)

Course Schedule
2015 
(EMEA)

Feedback & Testimonials

Brochure

Video

Dates Dates Dates Feedback Brochure Improving Business Performance

 

 

 

 

 

 
Join LPI